Hilary Hahn and Deutsche Grammophon Announce the Release of Her Newest Album, “In 27 Pieces: the Hilary Hahn Encores”

“I know of no violinist today with quite her combination of technical brilliance, interpretive assurance and sheer tonal splendor.” – The San Francisco Chronicle

Throughout her career, Hilary Hahn has been an advocate for new music – most notably commissioning a concerto by Edgar Meyer and a Pulitzer Prize-winning concerto by Jennifer Higdon. Her recent album, Silfra, was a genre-bending
experiment with prepared-pianist Hauschka. Prior to that, she released an album of sonatas by Charles Ives. More than ten years ago, Hahn began her most ambitious project, “In 27 Pieces: the Hilary Hahn Encores,” to expand and enrich the violin repertoire. She commissioned more than two dozen composers to write short-form pieces for acoustic violin and piano and toured these new works internationally over the 2011-12 and 2012-13 seasons in countries such as Turkey,
Germany, Luxembourg, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, the United States, Japan, Austria and Spain. On November 11, Hahn and Deutsche Grammophon will release a recording of all 27 encores in a 2-CD set in the United States.

In addition to the recording, Hahn and the composers are collaborating with music publishers Musicnotes.com and Boosey & Hawkes to create digital and physical editions, respectively, of the sheet music for the Encores, to be released alongside
the album. It is a crucial part of Hahn’s design for the project that the music be passed on to other violinists and absorbed into the repertoire.

The idea for “In 27 Pieces: the Hilary Hahn Encores” began to take shape when Hahn noticed that new encore pieces were not being showcased as much as other types of contemporary works. Shorter pieces remain a crucial part of every violinist’s education and repertoire, and Hahn believed that potential new favorites should be encouraged and performed as well. What is unique about the project, though, is the incredible depth that Hahn has gone to to discover new works. She explored the music of all the composers before personally contacting them and ran a blind online contest with open submissions to find the 27th composer.

The 26 commissioned composers are Antón García Abril, Franghiz Ali-Zadeh, Lera Auerbach, Richard Barrett, Mason Bates, Tina Davidson, David Del Tredici, Avner Dorman, Du Yun, Søren Nils Eichberg, Christos Hatzis, Jennifer Higdon, James Newton Howard, Bun-Ching Lam, David Lang, Paul Moravec, Nico Muhly, Michiru Oshima, Kala Ramnath, Einojuhani Rautavaara, Max Richter, Somei Satoh, Elliott Sharp, Valentin Silvestrov, Mark-Anthony Turnage, and Gillian Whitehead. Jeff Myers was chosen to be the final 27th composer.

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh (1947) – Impulse
Somei Satoh (1947) – Bifū
Du Yun (1978) – When a Tiger Meets a Rosa Rugosa
David Lang (1957) – Light Moving
Bun-Ching Lam (1954) – Solitude d’automne
Paul Moravec (1957) – Blue Fiddle
Antón García Abril (1933) – Third Sigh
Avner Dorman (1975) – Memory Games
David del Tredici (1937) – Farewell
Mason Bates (1977) – Ford’s Farm
Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928) – Whispering
Gillian Whitehead (1941) – Tōrua
Richard Barrett (1959) – Shade
Jennifer Higdon (1962) – Echo Dash
Christos Hatzis (1953) – Coming To
Jeff Myers (1977) – The Angry Birds of Kauai
Mark-Anthony Turnage (1960) – Hilary’s Hoedown
Valentin Silvestrov (1937) – Two Pieces
Kala Ramnath (1967) – Aalap and Tarana
Lera Auerbach (1973) – Speak, Memory
Tina Davidson (1952) – Blue Curve of the Earth
Elliott Sharp (1951) – Storm of the Eye
Michiru Oshima (1961) – Memories
James Newton Howard (1951) – 133… At Least
Nico Muhly (1981) – Two Voices
Søren Nils Eichberg (1973) – Levitation
Max Richter (1966) – Mercy